Gabe’s First Vacation Without Mom or Dad

Getting Gabe ready to go away for five days! I can’t believe he’s going to be gone that long! He’s never been gone so long before and I am having a bit of an emotional wrestle with myself about this.

He’ll be in good hands, of that I have no worries. And I know he’ll have loads of fun, but I am still gonna miss my little man. What am I going to do with myself next week when Ben goes to work and I am here, alone, all day! I don’t really get much time alone so the thought of it is both exciting and terrifying!

He’s heading to New Brunswick with his Oma (my mother-in-law) for five days. It’s only about a four and a half hour drive from where we live but the more I think about it the farther away it feels. It’s like every second spent thinking adds another mile on to his journey.

When Gabe was first born everyone wanted to take him for a night or two and we wouldn’t let anyone. He was our baby and we wanted him held close.

When he was four months old my dad and step-mother had him for a night. We were there bright and early in the morning to check up on him while I was on my way to work. It was the first time he had been away and we missed him.

After that first time away the requests from Ben’s mom started coming in and he started spending time away. We eventually got used to it but it was only ever for a night. I still managed to see him every day of his life for his first two years.

He was two and a half years old when Oma took him to the city for the weekend to go visit her boyfriend who lives there. It was only an hour away from us but it was the hardest two days for us as parents we had known. Our boy wasn’t with us and we missed him so much. Of course he had to call and say good night each night he was away. That is still our rule when he goes away over night.

Slowly our holding him so tight loosened and he went away more frequently. Mostly either with his Oma or Nanny and Grampy (my dad and step-mother). He has stayed a few nights with his Granny (my mother) and even a few nights at a friend’s house, but more often than not he is still home with Mom and Dad.

Ever since Oma asked about taking him with her about a month ago I had some mixed feelings. It’s been a while since he was anywhere away from us, so in some ways I think this will be good. As much as we love him and want him around all the time we all need our space from each other occasionally. The only part of me that things it’s not so good is the part of me that’s going to miss him.

Am I too clingy of a mother because part of me doesn’t want him to go? Or am I too unattached because I am letting him go? These are questions I keep asking myself and I look for the balance in the middle of it all, if there is one.

Overall I know he’ll have a great time, and that is what is overruling my emotional side that wants him to stay. I can’t take this trip away from him just because I am a little emotional, I just don’t feel like that’s fair. But I can honestly say that this is going to be one momma who misses her boy!

Leave a comment